A good time to reboot my blog

More than three years have elapsed since the last time I posted anything on this blog, not that anyone either noticed or cared. But now may be an opportune moment to give this another try.

As some of you know, at the end of this month I am leaving my law firm, and my family and I are relocating to Santiago de Chile. That’s about 5,600 miles–9,000 kilometers–from St. Paul, Minnesota, where we currently live. It has been suggested that the reason for the move was to ditch my firm-issued BlackBerry for an iPhone 4S (I have more than a year to go before I am eligible for an upgrade on my firm plan). Others have speculated that an urge to clean out the basement and the garage simply spiraled out of control, and what began as a project that entailed no more than a couple trips to Goodwill morphed into a journey to another hemisphere. While there is an element of truth to these theories, the primary reason for the move is that I will be working as a consultant on competition/antitrust matters in Chile.

Many years ago, I studied Latin American history as an undergraduate at the University of Chicago and a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin. In graduate school, however, I began hanging out with the wrong crowd (largely Irish historians… you know who you are), and before you know it I wound up in law school. I had very little contact with Latin America during my subsequent practice as an antitrust litigator. My upcoming gig in Santiago, however, provides a unique opportunity to return to the region.

In the months ahead, I plan on writing about competition law and policy in Latin America from the perspective of a U.S. lawyer. In addition, I intend to write about my experiences generally in Chile, and anything else that might seem of interest. And hopefully the next post will come sooner than mid-2015.

Leave a Reply

